Uncategorized

parampara.

Parampara is the sanskrit word meaning the passage of knowledge down the line from teacher to student. Student becomes teacher, and so on and so forth.  The thought of falling in line with this tradition is humbling and frightening at the same time. I am certainly not anywhere near passing on the tradition, rather I am at the point of accepting it.

What is parampara?? is a great article that explains in easier explanation what this is. “….my Teacher is the one I see every morning and who I trust to guide my practice and the the work of the everyday…….Trust is a choice. So many students come to an uncomfortable place in their relationship with their Teacher and leave … go find the answer they want and miss the lesson they need…….” Excerpts from this article that illustrate where I am in parampara. I am at the place where my teacher has become my Teacher and I have chosen to trust her in guiding my practice.

I have known that I wanted my Teacher to be my Teacher, and I had trusted in the fact that I was not progressing in the sequence when others were. I think the most recent change for me then is decided to surrender to the process and relax at her advisement. That has been the hardest part for me, and I know I held that in my body. That transition in my mind and body has allowed me to fall more fully into the Teacher/student relationship and accept the tradition passed from my Teacher to me.

Leave a Reply

